Monday, July 13, 2015

Virtual Tour & #Giveaway for Sisterhood is Deadly by Lindsay Emory

Welcome to my stop on the Virtual Tour, presented by Pump Up Your Book, for Sisterhood Is Deadly by Lindsay Emory.  Please leave a comment or question for Lindsay to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter my site's giveaway by filling out the Rafflecopter form below.  

Title: Sisterhood is Deadly
Series:  A Sorority Sisters Mystery, Book 1
Author: Lindsay Emory
Publisher: Witness Impulse
Genre: Mystery
Format: Kindle 
Release Date:  July 7, 2015

"We'll be sisters 'til we die…"

Margot Blythe is a professional sorority girl. As a Sisterhood Mentor for her beloved Delta Beta, she travels to colleges around the country, advising on serious sorority issues (and picking up all the gossip along the way). Margot is thrilled when she's invited back to her alma mater to assist the Delta Betas—but tragedy strikes when their chapter advisor drops dead during a meeting, sending shockwaves down sorority row. 

Shaken by the death—especially when foul play is suspected—Margot has to step up. Appointed the honor of serving as temporary chapter advisor, she now must manage the drama of fifty frazzled sorority women with secrets to hide; protect the house from the annual fraternity pledge pranks, which are more ominous than they seem; and worst of all, combat the ruinous rumors surfacing about a Delta Beta phone sex ring. If she wants to keep rival sororities and a suspicious (but dangerously cute) local policeman from bringing Delta Beta's reputation down, it's up to Margot to find out the truth—about whether a sister could have committed such an unimaginable sin as murder. 

A sassy debut for fans of Susan McBride and Meg Cabot


Sisterhood is Deadly is available for purchase at  

Hi!  I’m a writer.  And a mom.  And a wife.  And a sniper.  And a pastry chef.  (Any Flight of the Conchords fans?  Anyone?) I often speak without thinking.  My brain is stuffed full of useless trivia, which is really fun at parties and on  blogs (See, above.)  I live in Texas.  I’m a Diet Coke addict, and yes, I know it’s poison, and no, I’m not going to stop.  Yo hablo espanol. But most importantly, I’m a writer.  I write because it’s been in my heart since my first grade teacher gave me a pencil, some paper and told me to sit in a closet and write.   

For More Information

Visit Lindsay’s website.
Google Plus

July 1
Interviewed at Theresa M. Cole
Book reviewed at Undercover Book Reviews

July 2
Book featured at 3 Partners in Shopping

July 3
Book featured at Born to Read Books

July 6
Book featured at In Our Spare Time

July 7
Book featured at What is That Book About

July 8
Book featured at I'm Shelf-ish

July 9
Book featured at Review From Here

July 10
Book featured at Literal Exposure

July 13
Book reviewed at Words I Write Crazy

July 14
Book reviewed and Guest blogging at Queen of All She Reads

July 15
Book reviewed at A Peek at My Bookshelf

July 16
Guest blogging at Lori's Reading Corner
Book featured at Chosen By You Book Club

July 17
Book featured at Confessions of a Reader

July 20
Book reviewed at The Paperback Pursuer
July 21
Book reviewed and Guest blogging at Natural Bri
Book reviewed at Storeybook Reviews
Book reviewed and Guest blogging at Paperback Princess

Having never pledged to a sorority while in college; I stayed in my home town area and between work and school didn’t have the time or inclination, I looked forward to reading Sisterhood is Deadly by Lindsay Emory, a cozy mystery in a college setting in the South.  A fun, lighthearted mystery, a hilarious and over the top main character and a cute as heck police detective kept my attention from the first page to the last.  The first book in the Sorority Sister’s Mystery Series, Sisterhood is Deadly is guaranteed to please any cozy lover who also likes a good laugh.

Ms. Emory does a really good job introducing us to, and developing, her main character, Margot Blythe.  A twenty-eightish young woman who graduated college six years ago, Margot hasn’t been able to let go of her college glory days or her affiliation and love for Delta Beta and works for the sorority’s national headquarters as a “professional mentor” to the college houses.  Sent to Sutton College in North Carolina, her alma-mater, to check on things and make sure the sorority is living up to its obligations to pledges, Margot arrives in time to make an appearance at a house meeting, say the pledge and watch the chapter advisor drop dead.  Front and center during what becomes a murder investigation, Margot finds herself involved in having to solve a crime while saving her sorority’s reputation.    

I really liked Margot’s character; she’s witty, outgoing, attractive and dedicated to her sorority sister’s as if they are her “real” family.  An only child, Margot really took the Delta Beta pledge to heart.  So much so that she and the detective assigned to investigate what first looks like a surprise death, but turns into a murder investigation quickly, are at odds over their differing viewpoints about the importance of her role at the sorority and whether sororities and fraternities even have a legitimate place in modern society. 

The secondary characters are also well developed and I really liked Tyson “Ty” Hatfield, the police lieutenant assigned to the case; he’s hot, witty and has a history with Margot that she can’t remember.  I also enjoyed meeting two of Margot’s Delta Beta co-workers/big-sister Casey and Amanda.  They provided additional background on Margot and plenty of color.  The mystery is well written and takes plenty of twists and turns; plus there were plenty of potential suspects.  The pace is quick and the dialogue is razor sharp.

Will Margot discover the identity of the killer before Lt. Hatfield does?  Will Margot’s deep faith in the Delta Beta rules of conduct and sorority life be shaken by what she discovers?  And will Margot finally remember who Ty is before its too late?  You’ll have to read Sisterhood is Deadly to find out.  I enjoyed it and look forward to reading Rushing to Die, the next book in the Sorority Sisters mystery, which will be released in November 2015. 

My Rating:  4 out of 5 Crowns

a Rafflecopter giveaway

FTC Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book as a part of a book tour from the publisher via Edelweiss for a fair and honest review.  The review is my opinion, and my opinion only, of the reading material provided.  


  1. A very interesting review! Love the beautiful cover!

  2. I love cozies that make me laugh!

    lag110 at mchsi dot com