Monday, November 2, 2015

Virtual Tour for The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff

Welcome to my stop on the Virtual Tour, presented by Enchanted Book Promotions, for The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff.  Please leave a comment or question for Nichole to let her know you stopped by.  My review will post later today. Click on the banner above to visit all of the stops on Nichole's tour.   

The Kill Box
Author: Nichole Christoff
A Jamie Sinclair Novel, Book 3

Publisher:  Alibi (Random House LLC)
Release Date: October 20, 2015
Genre: Thriller / Mystery
Format: eBook
Length:  277 Pages (1154KB)
ISBN:  9781101883020

In an intense thriller that’s perfect for fans of Lee Child or Lisa Gardner, security specialist and PI Jamie Sinclair tackles a cold case that could cost her the one person who means the most to her.

Hardworking Jamie Sinclair can’t wait for the weekend. She plans to be off the clock and on the road to wine country with handsome military police officer Adam Barrett. But when a strung-out soldier takes an innocent woman hostage and forces his way into Jamie’s bedroom, everything changes. Jamie’s never seen the soldier before. But he’s no stranger to Barrett—and with one word he persuades Barrett to pack a duffel and leave Jamie in the lurch.

Jamie cannot fathom why Barrett would abandon her without explanation. But as the consequences of an unsolved crime threaten to catch up with him, a late-night phone call sends Jamie racing to Barrett’s hometown in upstate New York. In a tinderbox of shattered trust and long-buried secrets, Jamie must fight to uncover the truth about what really occurred one terrible night twenty years ago. And the secrets she discovers deep in Barrett’s past not only threaten their future together—they just might get her killed.

Author Bio

Nichole Christoff is a writer, broadcaster, and military spouse who has worked on air and behind the scenes producing and promoting content for radio, television news, and the public relations industry across the United States and Canada.

Nic's first manuscript won the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart®. Her second won the Helen McCloy-Mystery Writers of America Scholarship. Nic has also been named as a finalist for the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense and Killer Nashville's Claymore Dagger.

Nic has sipped champagne at the birthday celebration of His Majesty, the King of Thailand, played party games at the residence of the British High Commissioner, and learned to make sushi from the chef to His Excellency, the Ambassador of Japan. When she isn't penning her latest novel, Nic teaches Creative Writing at a small, private university.

Her debut thriller, The Kill List: A Jamie Sinclair Novel, was a December 2, 2014 release from Random House's Alibi.


A military cop with dark secrets, a private investigator in love with him and a twenty year old unsolved rape take center stage in The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff, the third Jamie Sinclair novel.  Set in the colorful countryside of upstate New York, Ms. Christoff takes us on a thrilling adventure as Jamie Sinclair puts her life on the line for Adam Barrett, the man who has had her back through several adventures and occupies her romantic dreams.  If you like colorful characters, small town drama, action and adventure with a touch of romance, then you’re going to want to pick up a copy of this book.

Finishing her latest case, Jamie Sinclair can’t wait to get home to her houseguest and townhouse.  Finally free to spend time with Adam Barrett, a military cop wounded saving her life, and planning to get to know him up close and personal, Jamie is shocked when a man, who appears to be strung out, takes Adam’s private nurse hostage and breaks into her house.  When Adam agrees to help the man save a mutual friend and takes off without explanation, Jamie finds herself alone and unsure about the man she thought she knew.  And when she gets a call from his grandmother asking her to help him, Jamie has to decide just how far she’s willing to go to save Adam from events in his past that could end up burying them both.

Ms. Christoff does a good job as she continues to develop both Jamie and Adam’s characters.  A fan of both of them, I have to admit that I was a little surprised by Adam’s behavior at the start of this installment; he was more of an alpha-hole than an alpha-hero like he’s been in the previous two installments.  He’s got unresolved emotional issues from his childhood that threaten to destroy the man Jamie knows.   I continued to root for Jamie as she stood her ground and didn’t let his stubbornness get in the way of doing what she needed to do, stand by her man.  Continuing to prove that a smart woman with good training is as capable, if not more, than a man at conducting investigations, Jamie is like a dog with a bone as she tackles small town secrets and deals with a body count that begins to rise just as she hits town.

The mystery of Adam’s past, who raped a 14 year old girl over twenty years ago, and who is killing people now is very well done.  The story takes several twists and turns and Jamie finds herself in danger more than once! As if Jamie’s hands aren’t already full, Ms. Christoff ups the ante by bringing the DEA into the picture as they investigate the small town and its connection to illegal drugs.  And adding a touch of romantic tension, the head DEA agent just happens to have the hots for Jamie, who he’s worked with before.

Will Jamie discover who is framed Adam twenty years ago for a crime he didn’t commit?  Will she and Adam survive her investigation into the past?  And what will happen to their almost relationship when the investigation is complete?  You’ll have to read The Kill Box to find out, I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to see what kind of trouble Jamie gets into next.

My Rating:  4.5 out of 5 Crowns 

FTC Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for a fair and honest review as a part of a book tour, which in no way influenced my opinion of the reading material provided. 

No comments:

Post a Comment