Thursday, May 13, 2010

Review: Savor The Moment/Nora Roberts/Berkley Publishing Inc.

Title: Savor The Moment

Author: Nora Roberts

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: April 27, 2010

eBook ISBN: 978-1101187128

Print ISBN: 978-0425233689

Length: 352 Pages

Format: Print and eBook


In Savor the Moment, the third book in the irresistible Bride Quartet series, Nora Roberts takes us down the aisle once again, this time with a feisty young woman who knows what she wants…but is unsure how to get it.

Just because wedding baker Laurel McBane is surrounded by romance every day—she works at Vows wedding planning company with her best friends Parker, Emma and Mac—doesn’t mean she covets all the luxuries of which their clients can’t seem to get enough. She’s way too low-key for such extravagances. What Laurel does appreciate, though, is a strong, intelligent man, a man just like Parker’s older brother, Delaney, on whom she’s had a mega-crush since they were kids.

Unfortunately, some infatuations last longer than others, and Laurel is convinced that the handsome Ivy League lawyer she still daydreams about is, as always, out of her reach. Plus, Del is too protective of Laurel to ever cross the romantic line with her…or so she thinks. When one of Laurel’s quicksilver moods get the better of her, leading to an angry, hot, all-together mind-blowing kiss with Del, can she quiet the doubts in her mind to turn a moment of passion into happily-ever-after true love?

My Review:
I really liked this book.  I have felt that each book in this series has improved on the previous book and this was a really fun book to read.  This book mostly focuses on Laurel and Del, however, the characters from the previous books do continue to appear and play an important part.

The character of Laurel McBane is interesting in that she has spent most of her life with the three other ladies in her immediate group, yet doesn't quite feel like their social equal.  Laurel is still dealing with issues that make her feel separate and as if she is looking in from the outside.  Ms. Roberts gives us enough details to help us understand why Laurel feels that way and why she has never acted on her attraction to her best friend's brother.  As Laurel watches two of her friends find the loves of their life, she realizes that she is going to need to change something and she finally gets the courage to do so and acts on her attraction to Delaney Brown. 

Delaney Brown is an interesting man.  He comes from a privileged background and has a very secure financial setup.  In fact at one point, Laurel realizes he's not just rich, he's wealthy.  He is well educated, extremely responsible and very solicitous towards his sister's friends.  He considers all of the ladies as his responsibility - like he is their big brother also.  Recently he realized that he is attracted to Laurel, however, he is afraid of changing the dynamics of their relationship, so he doesn't act on it (Bed of Roses (The Bride Quartet, Book 2)).  When Laurel decides to act on her feelings and attraction, he decides that perhaps it's time to look at things from a different perspective.

I liked how both Laurel and Delaney took an objective look at their attraction towards each other and pondered and discussed whether they should risk their life long friendship and somewhat familial love for what could possibly turn out to be simply an affair that didn't develop into anything.  They also discover that even though they have known each other a long time, there are still things about each other that they don't know.

We get to see the Brown's housekeeper, Mrs. Grady, and also have another encounter with Mackenzie's mom, Linda, who is a great villain in this series.  I would recommend that you read the previous books Vision in White (The Bride Quartet, Book 1) and Bed of Roses (The Bride Quartet, Book 2) so that you have a good feel for the characters and how the relationships have evolved.

My Rating:    5 out of 5 Crowns

No comments:

Post a Comment