Friday, July 10, 2015

Kindle Kandy - Friday July 10, 2015

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and e-readers to rediscover books we own that have not yet been read,  and have thus far been little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy. Too many books…too little time…..and all that jazz.  Please list one or two of your Kindle Kandy books in the comments or leave a link to your Kindle Kandy post below.  Don’t forget to link up at The Book Dame so you can check out all of the Kindle Kandy participants. 

A Bride Most Begruding
By Deanne Gist

Pub: July 1, 2005

When Lady Constance Morrow find herself held against her will aboard a ship bound for the American colonies--a ship filled with "tobacco brides" and felons--she is quite sure that as soon as she arrives she will find a reasonable man who will believe her father is an earl and send her back on the next ship to England. Instead she meets Drew O'Connor, a determined Colonial farmer who is nearly as headstrong as she is. Drew wins Constance as his bride but soon realizes he has taken on much more than he bargained for

I got this as a Kindle freebie back in March 2010 and just forgot about it.  I do want to read it because I've heard great things about Deanne Gist's books and it sounds like it coul be a lot of fun.  Plus this is the author's debut novel and she's gone on to win several Christian writing awards since and this book received a lot of great reviews when it first came out.   

Just the Sexiest Man Alive
By Julie James

Pub: October 7, 2008

From the New York Times bestselling Julie James comes this dazzling romance about one of Hollywood's biggest movie stars and the woman who refuses to let him capture her heart. For fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson.


Nothing fazes Taylor Donovan. In the courtroom, she never lets the opposition see her sweat. In her personal life, she never lets any man rattle her—not even her cheating ex-fiancĂ©. So when she’s assigned to coach People’s “Sexiest Man Alive” for his next big legal drama, she refuses to fall for the Hollywood heartthrob’s charms. Even if he is the Jason Andrews.


Jason Andrews is used to having women fall at his feet. When Taylor Donovan gives him the cold shoulder, he’s thrown for a loop. She’s unlike any other woman he’s ever met: uninterested in the limelight, seemingly immune to his advances, and shockingly capable of saying no to him. She’s the perfect challenge. And the more she rejects him, the more he begins to realize she may just be his perfect match…
I bought this on March 12, 2010 because it had been recommended by a good friend - unfortunately I haven't had a chance to read it yet and clearly I forgot about it...sigh...hopefully I will have time to read it soon.

I didn't make any progress on reading any of the books on my Kindle Kandy list yet but I hope to be able to this week - I've been sick and mostly sleeping and catching up on TV.  

Have you read either of these books?  If so, what did you think? 

Don't forget to list your Kindle Kandy and link up!


  1. I have A Bride Most Begrudging too. I have read some wonderful books from Deeanne Gist, and have no reason to have not read this one.
    The other books looks like a book with a fair amount of heat. I have a lot of books that I own that were recommended to me at one time or another but still have not made the time to read.
    I hope that you get to these soon and love them.

  2. Just The Sexiest...... looks promising. I hope you enjoy them! My KK